When does daylight saving time end in 2021? When are the clocks falling this year? Daylight saving time explained.


With more than a month of fall on the books, there’s just over two weeks until DST ends on the first Sunday in November and our clocks are moving back an hour.

Daylight saving time ends at 2 a.m. on Sunday, November 7, 2021, when the clock will “go back” by one hour.

The days continue to get shorter and Wednesday will be the last day the sun sets after 6 p.m. until March 11.

The sun will set in Newark at 5:47 p.m. on November 6. The next day, sunset is over an hour earlier – at 4:46 p.m. The days will continue to shorten until December 21, when the winter solstice arrives. Then the day length will begin to increase until the summer solstice on June 21, 2022.

At what time do we go back the clocks?

The clocks officially “fall” at 2 am on the first Sunday in November at 1 am

When did daylight saving time start and when will it end in 2021

Daylight saving time began on Sunday March 14, 2021 and will end on Sunday November 7, 2021 – lasting 238 days.

When does daylight saving time start and end in 2022?

We then move the clocks forward on March 13, 2022 – 126 days after moving them back. Daylight saving time in 2022 will end on November 6, 2022.

You will find more infographics on Statista

What is the history of daylight saving time?

The concept dates back over a century when English architect William Willett proposed the idea of ​​changing clocks in 1907 in The Waste of Daylight. The suggestion to use daylight more effectively can be attributed to Benjamin Franklin. During a visit to Paris in 1784, he wrote a letter to the editors of the Journal de Paris calling for a tax on every Parisian whose windows were closed after sunrise to “encourage the economy of using the sun at place of candles, ”according to Michael Downing, author of Spring Forward: The Annual Madness of Daylight Saving Time.

Summer time and winter time

Daylight saving time is used more of the year than standard time.

Which states do not observe daylight saving time?

Hawaii and most of Arizona do not observe daylight saving time. The time change is also not observed in the US territories of Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa and the US Virgin Islands.

Five states (Alabama, Georgia, Minnesota, Mississippi, and Montana) have enacted legislation to make daylight saving time permanent. These changes, however, require federal approval. Others also have bills pending in state legislatures.

Two provinces in Canada – Saskatchewan and the Yukon have adopted permanent daylight saving time.

About 70 countries observe daylight saving time. Most of North America, Europe, and parts of South America and New Zealand adhere to it, unlike China, Japan, India, and most countries. .

It starts on different dates elsewhere. In Australia, for example, daylight saving time started on October 3.

Our journalism needs your support. Please register today at NJ.com.

Jeff Goldman can be reached at [email protected].


Leave A Reply